Environmental Commission


The Wayne Environmental Commission was established by Township ordinance. This quasi-autonomous body engages in a variety of environmental activities to protect natural resources and encourage their wise use. Commissioners serve without compensation; however, Wayne Township does provide a minimal budgetary allowance for certain administrative and educational expenses. Seven members of the commission serve staggered 3-year terms with one member also serving as a planning board representative. Some of the powers and duties of the Commission are to: gather information; offer advice to other agencies; acquire land and endangered open space with the Township's approval; and, make recommendations to the planning board and/or Mayor and Council on the development and use of such areas. The Commission members are dedicated to addressing the environmental concerns of the Township and to protect the environment for future generations.

The Wayne Township Environmental Commission (WEC) is pleased to announce the receipt of an Association of New Jersey Environmental Commission (ANJEC) Open Space Stewardship grant Flood Plain Restoration and Rain Garden”. ANJEC is a non-profit organization that helps New Jersey environmental commissions preserve natural resources and promote sustainable communities.

In collaboration with Rutgers Cooperative Extension and Rutgers Master Gardeners, community volunteers will install a demonstration Green Infrastructure (GI) project, a rain garden with native plants, and a rain barrel on Saturday, May 21, 2022 with support and oversight from the Parks & Recreation Department. 

Wayne Township is committed to focusing on prioritizing GI projects because they will improve our stormwater runoff to help keep our lakes and waterways clean, reduce local flooding and beautify our neighborhoods. You can learn more about GI projects for your property by participating in an informational session held at the Wayne Public Library and visiting the references below. 


Amy Rowe, Ph. D. County Agent II (Associate Professor)

Rutgers New Jersey Agricultural Experiment Station

Cooperative Extension of Essex and Passaic Counties

Date: (conducted via Zoom)

Friday, March 25, 2022

  • What is Green Infrastructure and why is it important?
  • Describe Green Infrastructure practices that use nature to improve stormwater runoff to prevent flooding and reduce pollutants entering lakes and waterways.
  • Learn about Wayne Township’s plans to install a demonstration rain garden and rain barrel to improve a flood prone area.
  • What can be done to plan on improving your property with Green Infrastructure?

Wayne Environmental Commission - Commissioners

Regular Members
Mark Sielski, Chair
Richard Stomber, Vice Chair (Planning Board Member)
Ryan Sullivan
Katie McEwan
Leif Skogberg
Anthony Miragliotta
Voula Papadopoulos
Council Liasion
Jonathan Ettman

Town Hall

475 Valley Road
Wayne, NJ 07470
Weekdays 8:30am-4:30pm
Tuesdays open until 7:00 pm
Sat & Sun: Closed
Closed on State Holidays

Wayne DPW Complex

201 Dey Road
Wayne, NJ 07470
Weekdays 7:00am-3:30pm
Sat & Sun: Closed
Closed on State Holidays